Friday, October 20, 2017

´If it´s inside, I say it´s a penalty´ – Gabi

SoccerNews in La Liga 14 Apr 2016

29 Views

Atletico Madrid captain Gabi admitted he handled the ball but remains unsure where the foul took place after Wednesday’s Champions League clash ended in controversy.

Gabi and Co. won through to the semi-finals at the expense of Barcelona thanks to Antoine Griezmann, whose brace lifted Atletico to a 2-0 second-leg victory and 3-2 aggregate triumph over the title holders.

Atletico, though, were somewhat fortunate when referee Nicola Rizzoli awarded a late free-kick for a Gabi handball moments after Griezmann completed his brace in the 88th minute, despite replays suggesting the incident took place inside the penalty area

Asked about the controversial finish to proceedings in Madrid, Gabi said: “Yes it was a handball, but I don’t know if it was inside or outside [the penalty area].

“Sometimes they’re given and sometimes they’re not.

“If it’s inside, I say it’s a penalty.”

Atletico will now face Real Madrid, Bayern Munich or Manchester City in the semi-finals.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

SoccerNews

Soccernews.com is news blog for soccer with comprehensive coverage of all the major leagues in Europe, as well as MLS in the United States. In addition we offer breaking news for transfers and transfer rumors, ticket sales, betting tips and offers, match previews, and in-depth editorials.

You can follow us on Facebook: Facebook.com/soccernews.com or Twitter: @soccernewsfeed.

SHARE OR COMMENT ON THIS ARTICLE

WE RECOMMEND

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
avatar
 
smilegrinwinkmrgreenneutraltwistedarrowshockunamusedcooleviloopsrazzrollcryeeklolmadsadexclamationquestionideahmmbegwhewchucklesillyenvyshutmouth
wpDiscuz
More More
Top