Monday, April 23, 2018

Leicester trio nominated for PFA Player of the Year award

David Nugent in Editorial, English Premier League 13 Apr 2016

Leicester striker Jamie Vardy has been nominated for PFA Player of the year alongside teammates N'Golo Kante and Riyad Mahrez

Leicester striker Jamie Vardy has been nominated for PFA Player of the year alongside teammates N’Golo Kante and Riyad Mahrez

Leicester trio Riyad Mahrez, Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante have been shortlisted for the PFA Player of the year award.

The awards ceremony will be held on 24th April in London and the league leaders are obviously well represented after an unbelievable campaign.

The other players on the shortlist are Tottenham’s Harry Kane, Dimitri Payet of West Ham and Arsenal playmaker Mesut Ozil.

The winner does not always come from the team who wins the Premier League title, but this season it would only seem fitting that a Leicester player wins the award.

Stars of Premier League’s greatest underdog story

As we all know Leicester’s campaign has been one of incredible achievement. The Foxes have already confirmed a place in the Champions League for next season and are ten points clear at the top of the table.

The current squad look set to pull-off the most surprising Premier League title triumph in the competitions history. From zeros for most of last season to major heroes this campaign.

The side from the Midlands will be held-up by many for years to come as an example of what can be achieved with hard-work and good organisation.

There is unlikely to be another story like Leicester’s for a long time to come and the likes of N’Golo Kante, Jamie Vardy and Riyad Mahrez have all played key roles for the Foxes. Claudio Ranieri’s side were considered a team without stars, but in truth the trio have become stars this season.

All influential players for the Foxes

It would be remise to single out players from such a good team unit as Leicester, but the aforementioned trio have all been highly-influential in the Foxes successful campaign.

Kante has proven to be one of the biggest bargains of the summer transfer windows, costing the Foxes a reportedly £5.6million from French Ligue One side Caen.

The 25-year-old has acquitted himself superbly in the Premier League, considering he had only spent one season in Ligue One prior to his move to the Midlands. His lack of experience at the top level has not stopped Kante becoming a highly-rated Premier League central midfielder this season.

Algerian playmaker Riyad Mahrez had shown flashes of his ability in previous campaigns, but nothing to suggest he might enjoy the sort of campaign he is currently experiencing. Mahrez has scored 16 times in the Premier League and produced 11 assists this season.

These performances have come as quite a surprise considering he struggled to make an impact in the Premier League last season.

Then you have Vardy, who could quite possibly be the most improved player in the top-flight. His journey from non-league to England international has now been well publicised, but he now seems such a natural in front of goal.

The 29-year-old is challenging former Leicester teammate Harry Kane for the Premier League golden boot and is just one goal behind the Spurs star on 21 league goals for the season. He has been simply superb this season for the Foxes, with his energetic displays. He is now a shoo-in for England Euro 2016 squad.

Has to be one of the three

For me because of what the club from the Midlands have achieved one of the trio have to win the award. All three have their merits, as does the other three on the shortlist, but for me Jamie Vardy should be the winner.

Teammate Mahrez is the favourite to win the award at odds 2/5. However, for me Vardy just epitomises what Leicester have been about this season. He symbolises everything that the Foxes have achieved by coming from absolutely nowhere to win the Premier League title.

Just like Vardy’s rise from non-league, Leicester have done it the hard way, nearly relegated last season and then grinding out results with resolute displays in the current campaigns. They have never stopped believing and neither does their main man up front.

Whoever wins the award this season will truly deserve it, because the six nominees have enjoyed stellar campaigns. However, Jamie Vardy’s story is a fantastic one, just like Leicester’s, so it would be fitting if the England international capped off an extraordinary year with the Player of the Year award.

Who should win PFA Player of the Year award?


David Nugent

David is a freelance football writer with nearly a decade of experience writing about the beautiful game. The experienced writer has written for over a dozen websites and also an international soccer magazine offline.
Arguably his best work has come as an editorial writer for Soccernews, sharing his good, bad and ugly opinions on the world’s favourite sport. During David’s writing career he has written editorials, betting previews, match previews, banter, news and opinion pieces.



Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
More More