Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Ramires defiant after dubious penalty

SoccerNews in English Premier League 9 Nov 2013

6 Views

Chelsea midfielder Ramires insisted he has never dived to win a penalty despite controversially earning a spot-kick on Saturday.

The Brazilian went down under a soft challenge in the area in injury time and Eden Hazard converted to earn Chelsea a 2-2 draw against West Brom at Stamford Bridge.

West Brom manager Steve Clarke was furious with the decision and said referee Andre Marriner was wrong to award a penalty.

Ramires was already going down before making contact with full-back Steven Reid and no Chelsea player around the incident appealed for a penalty.

But the 26-year-old defended his actions and denied he dived to earn the late penalty.

“I have never used diving to win fouls or penalties,” Ramires said.

“It’s not my character and those who know me know it very well.”

Injured West Brom goalkeeper Ben Foster was unhappy with the spot-kick and used Twitter to express his disappointment.

“Load of shit,” Foster tweeted.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

SoccerNews

Soccernews.com is news blog for soccer with comprehensive coverage of all the major leagues in Europe, as well as MLS in the United States. In addition we offer breaking news for transfers and transfer rumors, ticket sales, betting tips and offers, match previews, and in-depth editorials.

You can follow us on Facebook: Facebook.com/soccernews.com or Twitter: @soccernewsfeed.

SHARE OR COMMENT ON THIS ARTICLE

WE RECOMMEND

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
avatar
 
smilegrinwinkmrgreenneutraltwistedarrowshockunamusedcooleviloopsrazzrollcryeeklolmadsadexclamationquestionideahmmbegwhewchucklesillyenvyshutmouth
wpDiscuz
More More
Top