• Live Streaming Football
    As a Bet365 customer you can watch live streaming football, horse racing, tennis & hockey etc. Live betting available for all sports! [+]
  • Over 1000 in Free Bets
    Get Free Bets for Football!
    Take advantage of these amazing promotions while it lasts. Now you can bet with the finest bookmakers and get the best deal on the Net. [+]

Referee admits Confederations Cup mistake

Referee Ravshan Irmatov has said he was wrong to allow Giorgio Chiellini’s goal in Italy’s loss to Brazil in the FIFA Confederations Cup.

The Uzbekistani official appeared to award a penalty to Italy after a foul from a corner in the Group A match on Saturday, but Chiellini put a shot into the bottom corner of the net immediately after and Irmatov gave the goal.

Brazil’s players protested furiously, pointing out that the referee had already blown his whistle and FIFA spokesman Pekka Odriozola confirmed Irmatov admitted to his mistake, even though the decision made no impact on the outcome of the game as Brazil won 4-2.

“(It was) a technical mistake,” Odriozola said. “He has also admitted that, once you blow the whistle you have stopped play, you cannot give the advantage.

“He doesn’t want to give make excuses, but he explained what the situation was like for him.

“It was very quick, while he was blowing (for the penalty), out of the corner of his eye, he saw the goal could be scored, (then) the goal was scored. He was thinking quickly and he did not want to give any excuses.”

Despite acknowledging that he had made a mistake, Irmatov will not necessarily be sent home according to Odriozola.

He added: “Without analysing the performances, (FIFA refereeing chief) Massimo Busacca said referees are humans and make mistakes just like anyone else, like players or strikers might miss a clear scoring chance.”

Sun 23 Jun, 2013
RSS Feed
Buy Soccer Tickets Largest selection of premium soccer tickets for the Premier League, MLS, La Liga, Serie A, European Cups, World Cup etc. Click Here

Add your comment