Saturday, June 15, 2024

Referee admits penalty blunder in Lyon v Nice game

SoccerNews in Ligue 1 14 Sep 2008

149 Views

The referee who gave Lyon a last-gasp penalty in the French champions' controversial 3-2 win over rivals Nice on Saturday has admitted he made a blunder.

Jean-Charles Cailleux on Sunday told French radio station RTL he should not have awarded the spot-kick – converted by Lyon's Karim Benzema in the fourth minute of stoppage time – as no infringement had taken place.

Cailleux said he did not have a clear view of the incident involving Nice defender Vincent Hognon, adding that he blew for hand ball based on the call of his linesman.

“When I saw the images on TV there was clearly contact with the hand, but it was involuntary,” said Cailleux. “I shouldn't have blown for this fault and it should never have been a penalty.”

Lyon's win saw them go joint top with Marseille, who drew 1-1 with Bordeaux, with Paris Saint Germain set to play Nantes later on Sunday.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

SoccerNews

Soccernews.com is news blog for soccer with comprehensive coverage of all the major leagues in Europe, as well as MLS in the United States. In addition we offer breaking news for transfers and transfer rumors, ticket sales, betting tips and offers, match previews, and in-depth editorials.

You can follow us on Facebook: Facebook.com/soccernews.com or Twitter: @soccernewsfeed.

SHARE OR COMMENT ON THIS ARTICLE

WE RECOMMEND

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This field is required *

Join the conversation!

or Register

More More
Top