Saturday, August 19, 2017

Ayala forgot Owen dive

SoccerNews in General Soccer News 11 Oct 2012

3 Views

Ex-Argentina captain Roberto Ayala has admitted that he cannot remember Michael Owen’s dive in the 1998 World Cup last-16 tie with England.

The South Americans eventually progressed on a shoot-out after a controversy-fuelled 120 minutes which saw the Three Lions awarded a dubious spot kick.

Owen has since admitted via his Twitter account he went down too easily and had conned the referee, but, for the former Valencia defender, the incident is in the past.

“To be honest, I don’t remember that moment. I read what he said on Twitter but I’d have to watch the match again,” Ayala told Goal.com.

“It’s all in the past now. It’s just words and nothing else. I’m not angry or anything.

“Football is a bit like that. It’s a bit about trying to deceive your rival and, to an extent, deceive the referee too, in order to gain an advantage.

“Maybe (Owen) thought he had to fall to the ground to earn a penalty and that’s what happened.”

Ayala now works as a director of football for Racing Club de Avellanda in his homeland.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

SoccerNews

Soccernews.com is news blog for soccer with comprehensive coverage of all the major leagues in Europe, as well as MLS in the United States. In addition we offer breaking news for transfers and transfer rumors, ticket sales, betting tips and offers, match previews, and in-depth editorials.

You can follow us on Facebook: Facebook.com/soccernews.com or Twitter: @soccernewsfeed.

SHARE OR COMMENT ON THIS ARTICLE

WE RECOMMEND

Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
avatar
 
smilegrinwinkmrgreenneutraltwistedarrowshockunamusedcooleviloopsrazzrollcryeeklolmadsadexclamationquestionideahmmbegwhewchucklesillyenvyshutmouth
wpDiscuz
Live Scores

advertisement

Betting Guide Advertisement

advertisement

  • Football_888sport betting
Become a Writer
More More
Top