• Live Streaming Football
    As a Bet365 customer you can watch live streaming football, horse racing, tennis & hockey etc. Live betting available for all sports! [+]
  • Over 1000 in Free Bets
    Get Free Bets for Football!
    Take advantage of these amazing promotions while it lasts. Now you can bet with the finest bookmakers and get the best deal on the Net. [+]

Former winners enter FA Cup first round

Former FA Cup winners Wolves, Coventry City and Portsmouth were given away fixtures in the first round draw on Sunday.

Forty ties will take place as team start to dream of success in the competition won by Wigan Athletic last season.

Three-time winners Wolves enter the first round for the first time since 1991-92 following their relegation to League One last season. They will travel to Boundary Park for a clash with Oldham Athletic.

The two sides faced each other in the league earlier this month, Kenny Jackett’s side coming out 2-0 winners thanks to goals from James Henry and Leigh Griffiths.

Coventry lifted the trophy in 1987 and will begin their campaign with a trip to League Two side AFC Wimbledon.

Portsmouth are the most recent winners to participate at this stage having been triumphant in 2008, and Guy Whittingham’s side will play Stevenage.

There will be an all-Lincolnshire derby at Blundell Park when Grimsby entertain Scunthorpe, while Nigel Clough’s Sheffield United face fellow League One team Colchester United.

Daventry are the lowest placed side definitely in the first round after their victory over Hartley Wintney in the fourth qualifying round. The Southern League Division One Central side have been drawn against League Two high-fliers Chesterfield.

They could be joined by Shortwood United of the Southern League Division One South and West league, who have a replay with Aldershot.

A 1-1 draw on Saturday meant Shortwood and Aldershot were in the draw and the winners will host Port Vale in the first round.

Conference South side Bishop’s Stortford’s reward for beating Forest Green Rovers was a tie with Northampton Town, while there will be an all-Southern League Premier Division clash when Biggleswade Town face Stourbridge.

FA Cup first round draw: Morecambe v Southend United, Walsall v Shrewsbury Town, Boreham Wood v Carlisle United, St Albans City v Mansfield Town, MK Dons v FC Halifax Town, Bristol Rovers v York City, Tamworth v Cheltenham Town, Grimsby Town v Scunthorpe United, Bury v Cambridge United, Corby Town v Dover Athletic, Colchester United v Sheffield United, Oxford United v Gateshead, Hartlepool United v Notts County, Chesterfield v Daventry Town, Bristol City v Dagenham & Redbridge, AFC Wimbledon v Coventry City, Preston North End v Barnet, Bishop’s Stortford v Northampton Town, Burton Albion v Hereford United, Rotherham United v Bradford City, Gillingham v Brackley Town or Barrow, Salisbury City v Ebbsfleet United or Dartford, Accrington Stanley v Tranmere Rovers, Brentford v Staines Town or Poole Town, Stevenage v Portsmouth, Shortwood United or Aldershot Town v Port Vale, Leyton Orient v Southport, Peterborough United v Exeter City, Torquay United v Rochdale, Braintree Town v Newport County, Oldham Athletic v Wolverhampton Wanderers, Worcester City or Lincoln City v Plymouth Argyle, Bradford Park Avenue or Kidderminster Harriers v Hemel Hempstead or Sutton United, Hednesford Town v Crawley Town, Stourbridge v Biggleswade Town, Welling United v Luton Town, Macclesfield Town v Swindon Town, Wycombe Wanderers v Crewe Alexandra, Gloucester City v Fleetwood Town, Wrexham v Alfreton Town.

Sun 27 Oct, 2013
RSS Feed
Buy Soccer Tickets Largest selection of premium soccer tickets for the Premier League, MLS, La Liga, Serie A, European Cups, World Cup etc. Click Here

Add your comment