Sunday, July 12, 2020

Which Teams Qualified Into the 2019-20 UEFA Europa League Knockout Stages?

Juan Pablo Aravena in Editorial, UEFA Europa League 13 Dec 2019

Embed from Getty Images

The 2019-20 UEFA Europa League group stage is finally over. After six matchdays, 24 teams have moved into the knockout stages. With the addition of the eight third-placed teams from the UEFA Champions League group stage, 32 squads will take part in the tournament’s Round of 32 starting February next year.

There were some notable surprises throughout the group stage. For instance, Malmö topped Group B, PSV Eindhoven couldn’t move past Group D, and Borussia Monchengladbach finished third in Group J. Other well-known teams that have been eliminated in the group stage are Feyenoord, St. Etienne and Lazio, just to name a few. Sevilla (15) points were the best team during the group stage followed by Sporting Braga (14 points). Four teams ended with 13 points: FC Basel, Manchester United, LASK Linz and Celtic.

Without further ado, here are the 32 teams that reached the knockout stages. They have been listed in the order in which they have qualified into the Round of 32.

Qualified teams for the 2019-20 UEFA Champions League Round of 32

Group A: Sevilla and APOEL Nicosia. Qarabag and Dudelange are out.

Group B: Malmö FF and FC Copenhagen. Dynamo Kyiv and Lugano are out.

Group C: FC Basel and Getafe. Krasnodar and Trabzonspor are out.

Group D: LASK Linz and Sporting Lisbon. PSV Eindhoven and Rosenborg are out.

Group E: Celtic and CFR Cluj. Lazio and Rennes are out.

Group F: Arsenal and Eintracht Frankfurt. Standard Liege and Vitoria Guimaraes are out.

Group G: FC Porto and Rangers. Young Boys and Feyenoord are out.

Group H: Espanyol and Ludogorets. Ferencvaros and CSKA Moscow are out.

Group I: Gent and Wolfsburg. St. Etienne and Oleksandriya are out.

Group J: Basaksehir and AS Roma. Borussia Monchengladbach and Wolfsberger AC are out.

Group K: Braga and Wolverhampton Wanderers. Slovan Bratislava and Besiktas are out.

Group L: Manchester United and AZ Alkmaar. Partizan and FK Astana are out.

Teams coming from the UEFA Champions League group stages: Club Brugge, Olympiacos, Shakhtar Donetsk, Bayer Leverkusen, RB Salzburg, Inter Milan, Benfica, Ajax.

When will the draw be held?

The draw to determine how teams will matchup will be made at 12:00 in Nyon, Switzerland, on Monday.


Juan Pablo Aravena

A freelance writer and sports analyst with almost five years of experience in the industry before joining SoccerNews, Juan Pablo Aravena is based in Chile and currently contributes to several publications and websites including SoccerNews, 12up, and Sports From The Basement, while also working as a fantasy beat writer for RotoWire, as a database editor for EA Sports, and as a football analyst for SmartOdds and InsideFutbol. His areas of focus are Serie A, Bundesliga, Premier League, LaLiga, and Ligue 1, but he has also written about MLS and South American football in the past.



Leave a Reply

Notify of
More More